The work we’re proud of from 2012

I rarely post work I’m doing on FB or other social media because, well—I’m working. And I also feel a bit uncomfortable doing so. Most of the time the work is being finalized and the client may not wish it to be public and I feel to braggy about it. But the social media Gods, it seems, insists you must tell people so they know what you’re up to.

With that said, I figured I’d write a blog post of the gigs that made me giggle in glee last year (in no particular order other than alphabetical):

ALT Roots Marketing

Website Design

Working with Amanda of ALT Roots Marketing on her account with Vegan Proteins to redesign their website was an awesome collaboration. I created a custom design to a theme template and Quinn (Fresh Pond Media) developed the site. It’s a rare chance to work with like-minded friends and the results when doing so are remarkable. http://altrootsmarketing.com

ipad-Mockup-veganpro



Alva DoRight

Identity

The words Pansy Maiden are sketched on a tiny piece of orange paper that hangs above my desk along with other “dream gigs.” I was able to cross this one off. Laura, founder of Pansy Maiden asked me to help her create an identity for Alva DoRight, the men’s line of her fabulous brand Pansy Maiden. In a recent interview with the Vegan Business Connection, Laura confessed that any business should be sure about a name so as to make it easier on yourself… The bear logo was sketched, designed, and tweaked and I was super thrilled to see it up on her new site. http://alvadoright.com

alv2



Fauna Foundation

Newsletter

Fauna is a terrific animal sanctuary that I learned about while working at NEAVS. They were the first sanctuary to accept chimpanzees with HIV from research. Gloria Grow, the founder is a genuinely kind soul and the perfect person to care for animals. Last year marked their 15th Anniversary and I was asked to create a 24-page newsletter celebrating the milestone in English and French. The beautiful animal photos by Fauna volunteers made the layout/design come to life. Looking into the eyes of the animals just makes you melt. Multi-page layouts are so fun to do. http://www.faunafoundation.org

fauna2



New Alliance East

Website design/development

Franny contacted a college professor and he suggested she look on LinkedIn. Franny saw me on there and didn’t realize I did what she was looking for—website design. The rest is history. This project was very cool as it involved an audio mastering studio. Just über cool working with Franny, Rob, and Nick. http://newallianceeast.com

ipad-Mockup-nae



Planned Parenthood

Outdoor advertising

Former co-worker and friend, Purnima, asked me to help her out by doing an ad campaign for the non-profit she was Marketing Manager at, Planned Parenthood. Of course I jumped on the opportunity because I support all that the organization does and creating ad campaigns are my most favorite thing to do and the opportunity doesn’t happen as often as I wish. I leveraged Planned Parenthood’s existing branding guidelines to create the campaign displayed in Boston subway cars, in subway ramps, and on buses in Worcester. Purnima said their statistics increased 20% for website traffic. http://www.plannedparenthood.org

Planned Parenthood



Salem Food Tours

Brand Identity, Website design/development, Flyer

Another former co-worker and current friend and client, Karen Scalia started Salem Food Tours last year. She is a visionary and marketer and so it was a fantastic collaboration when “the look” for Salem Food Tours, in Salem, Massachusetts was born. We started with the identity. Over a few phone conversations I remember Karen saying she didn’t want to do anything cliché like broom sticks. Meanwhile one logo I was fond of included such a cliché and so when it came time to send her the first round of logo options I hid the logo on the very last page. I think Karen called me later that day and said she had a favorite and it was at the end. (I forgot to tell you, dear reader, that I struggled over whether not to include the said logo at all and my boyfriend made the practical statement that, “it was already done, so I might as well include it” and so I did.) You’re probably already guessing that indeed, the logo that went a little cliché was the chosen logo. Karen offers a vegan tour periodically throughout the year. http://www.salemfoodtours.com

Once the identity was complete we began working on the website. I started using premium WordPress themes for a few reasons, you can read more here and I customized it to fit the look Karen wanted. She mentioned a table-cloth idea early on and a maritime feel. Voila, the website was born. In addition, we created a flyer that leveraged the identity so that the logo, website, and flyer all have a cohesive branded look. http://www.salemfoodtours.com

Salem Food Tours



Will Travel For Vegan Food

Website re-design

Watching a friend fulfill a dream is nothing short of tear-jerking. Seriously. It’s awe-inspiring and at the same time a reality check that anyone can fulfill their dreams too—you just have to take the first step and build on that. I was flattered beyond belief when Kristin asked me to redesign her website. She was already using a theme and was familiar with WordPress. Like all things technology, it needed a facelift to incorporate newer design elements such as responsive design, which just means when you’re on your phone, or your iPad the website responds to the size. We nailed down all of the needs and wants for her new vision and found a theme. Design elements throughout the site such as graphics to represent regions she’s traveled to created small but impactful details. http://wtfveganfood.com

ipad-Mockup-wtf



Vegan Business Connection

Identity, Website implementation

The is a project started with Amanda (ALT Roots Marketing) and Quinn (Fresh Pond Media). We are so excited to work on connecting vegan businesses together and the more we talk to people the more we hear they too have thought of a similar idea so it seems this project is very tangible to people and we’re filling a need that vegan businesses have—which is often wanting and needing to feel connected to others with similar ethos. http://www.veganbusinessconnection.com

Vegan Business Connection



Vegan Mainstream

Array of design pieces including co-web design of Engine2Diet; Vegan MashUp direct mail, flyer, and poster; Vegan Here App; identity and labels for Evelyn’s To Go; and New Year, New You Health Fest

You’ve probably heard of Vegan Mainstream by now. Stephanie Redcross, owner and founder works tirelessly to build her company. I can personally attest to this as many a phone call or email knowing she must’ve only slept 4 hours (if that!). She’s amazingly-crazy! Can I say that?! A true mentor, whether she knows it or not and very inspiring to see her brand truly go mainstream in only a few years. Hard work. That’s key. http://www.veganmainstream.com/

Vegan Mainstream


You must be logged in to post a comment.